Take Action



Voter Resources

Select your state to get started:

Latest News

Unified Carrier Registration Plan

States Ramping up Enforcement on Unified Carrier Registration Fee

The Single State Registration System officially ended on January 1, 2007, and was replaced by the Unified Carrier Registration Agreement (UCR). The UCR was established in the Highway Reauthorization Bill enacted on August 10, 2005 (SAFETEA-LU, P.L. 109-59).

UCR requires all motor carriers (including private, for-hire, and exempt carriers), as well as brokers, freight forwarders, and leasing companies to register with the United States Department of Transportation (USDOT) annually. In addition, a broker is required to pay a $76 registration fee.

Currently 41 states are participating in the UCR, but you must register even if you are not domiciled in one of those participating base states. A base state will be assigned to you. States are starting to ramp up enforcement of collecting unpaid UCR fees, so register today by visiting the Unified Carrier Registration System’s webpage.   

If you have any questions or comments please contact Chris Burroughs at burroughs@tianet.org or (703) 299-5705.